The conference “Materials, Systems and Structures in Civil Engineering – MSSCE 2016” was part of the RILEM week 2016, which consists of a series of parallel and consecutive conference and doctoral course segments on different topics as well as technical and administrative meetings in several scientific organizations. The event was hosted by the Department of Civil Engineering at the Technical University of Denmark and the Danish Technological Institute and it is held at the Lyngby campus of the Technical University of Denmark 15-29 August 2016.

In this context, COST Action TU1404 was the organizer of the conference segment “Service Life of Cement-Based Materials and Structures”. The present conference segment dealt with a wide breadth of topics related to the service life of concrete, comprising aspects related to the 3 Workgroups mentioned above. The conference segment is attended by 80 presenters from university, industry and practice representing more than 30 different countries. All contributions have been peer reviewed.


The conference segment had several objectives in line with the development of activities of TU1404:

  • to bring together researchers and practitioners in the pursuit of knowledge integration for better understanding of the service life of cement based materials and structures;
  • to promote scientific discussion on the various activities, related to the three workgroups of the Action, between the members of the Action as well as with external participants;
  • to share experience gained so far in the round robin testing (WG1);
  • to discuss and share experience gained so far in the simulation-benchmarking activities conducted within WG2 related to the experimental results of WG1;
  • to discuss and define benchmarking activities related to case studies (WG2&3);
  • to discuss ongoing standardization works (the Eurocode-system revision) (WG3)
  • to allow the participants (i.e. members of RRT) to present themselves, their organizations, their scientific work and contributions;
  • to discuss further developments leading to recommendations/guidelines in collaboration with WG3.
Organizing Committee
Miguel Azenha
Terje Kanstad
Dirk Schlicke
Ole Mejlhede Jensen

Scientific Committee
Ivan Gabrijel (chair)
Miguel Azenha
Farid Benboudjema
Violeta Bokan Bosiljkov
Matthieu Briffaut
Laurie Buffo-Lacarrière
Paulo Cachim
Robby Caspeele
Özlem Cizer
Cyrille Dunant
Rui Faria
Erez Gal
Dariusz Gawin
Max Hendriks
Wibke Hermerschmidt
Ole Mejlhede Jensen
Terje Kanstad
Agnieszka Knoppik-Wróbel
Katalin Kopecskó
Tang Luping
Enrico Masoero
Theodore Matikas
Sreejith Nanukuttan
Ivan Paric
Bernhard Pichler
Vlastimir Radonjanin
Emmanuel Rozière
Aljoša Šajna
Dirk Schlicke
Wolfram Schmidt
Marijana Serdar
Vít Šmilauer
Tayfun Altuğ Söylev
Stéphanie Staquet
François Toutlemonde
Gregor Trtnik
Neven Ukrainczyk
Jörg F. Unger
Mateusz Wyrzykowski
Guang Ye
Yibing Zuo

The detailed programme of the event can be found here: slot 1; slot 2.


The conference proceedings of the event are freely available for download: Volume 1; Volume 2.